Balancing Life And The Dream

While I want to be “all systems go” all the time promoting TPE, sometimes life gets in the way.  Money is getting a bit tight so the regular job search has begun, and it looks like I found something.  It’s working for the company I used to, but in a different position and location (praise the lord!)  Location was the main reason I left the job in the first place, so a short commute will be a relief.  The downside is I’m going to be working my ass off 6 days per week, and the 7th might be occupied with an acting gig.  If TPE news sputters for awhile this will be the reason, but I’ll do my best to keep everyone up to date.

I know the filmmakers out there are nodding their heads, because almost all of them have to put their projects on pause while trying to scrape together a living.  It makes me wonder what kind of day job is better?  My regular job has nothing to do with movies or acting, other than providing the pathway for people to stream movies.  In a way it’s positive because when I can finally break away and do movie related stuff, my motivation is sky high.  The downside is having to shake the rust off- getting used to acting, writing, or whatever the specialty may be.

Then there’s working in the same field, but for someone else.  This is obviously good for keeping your skills sharp for when you can get back to your project.  I imagine though a downside could be when you finally get that time, are you motivated to give it your all?  I remember being a mechanic, and no phrase was truer than “the last thing a mechanic wants to do is work on their own car.”  Could this be true or am I just spitballing here?

Oh, on the movie front-

Instead of getting movie postcards printed for the Baltimore Comic Con, I bought a quarter page ad in their program. The ad is very simple, with “Baltimore’s First Superhero” as a heading, then the movie title, and beneath that our webpage and twitter account @Thephotoneffect.  It’s not as fancy as our previous postcards, but since it’s in the program that people normally keep I hope we get some more followers on social media.  Fingers crossed!

4 thoughts on “Balancing Life And The Dream

  1. When I went to college, my dream/goal was to be a film maker and I studied Radio/TV (no film program was available). After college, I made my one and only feature-length film which did no business. Ever since, my day jobs have been in the video production field to one degree or another. It has been over ten years since I made my movie and I can say that working daily in a field related to what my passion was didn’t dilute my desire for expressing myself creatively but I did find my interests moving to another form of creative expression which is currently writing and drawing comic books. I think the healthiest outlook is to keep your day job separated from your creative passions if you feel it draining on you and the best way to do that–for me at least–is to recognize that your day job doesn’t define who you are. It is only a part of life that helps you eat, sleep and have shelter. I know too many creative souls who allow their day job to be the defining part of their lives and it crushes them because it isn’t who they “want to be” when all they have to do is recognize they already ARE who they want to be.

    I could look back on my creative career as a failure if I wanted, but why? I–along with some great friends–succeeded in making a feature film. I have a happy marriage, kids, a job that allows me to work in video from time to time, and time (when I can find it) to follow my creative passions. Those passions may or may never pay off in $$$$$ but if that is what I strive for then I’m missing the point of doing it in the first place.

    But remember, this is me. I think anyone with the drive and willingness to sacrifice (this is key) should pursue making their passion their livelihood. But if life doesn’t pan out that way no matter how hard you try, find balance and peace in the life you have and keep expressing yourself. Happiness–that arbitrary, ever-changing, life-long goal–is a state of mind. Find it in yourself and be well & fun.

    And that is my rant for the day.

  2. Great stuff Daniel. I especially like where you say you want to stay creative, but express it through a medium other than filmmaking. I think a lot of people fall into the trap where they consider anything other than Hollywood success a failure. Hey, it’s great that becomes reality to some people, but just because we don’t “make it” per say doesn’t mean we stop being creative.

  3. I think balancing the two are essential for your well-being and livelihood. Success is completely subjective and too many people translate success as the ability to live off of something professionally. Doing your work professionally will have compromises too. In film, many actors argue that they get paid well because they have to sit around for much of the day and the money is to compliment the boredom. Lots resort to doing stints in theatre for worse pay just to feel the immediacy of their craft. I’m sure the attraction is that you’d be able to concentrate on one thing that you love without the distractions of everyday life – but that is part of the journey and I recommend embracing it as such. I took a job stuffing teddy bears to fund my first feature and it makes for a great anecdote!

    Best of luck for the future with your projects!

Leave a Reply

